States where 14-Day Quarantine is Necessary

Travel in USA

States are relaxing their lockdown rules and beginning to open back. However, travelers are not free to come and go on their own wish to most of the places during the pandemic. 

Also, many states have a requirement of 14-day quarantine for interstate travelers. Visitors and residents returning from other states have to quarantine for 14 days. 

Moreover, many international countries have applied the same requirement for travelers. Therefore, it is important to check the travel requirements of a country before booking a flight. Presently, our states have also reformed the restrictions.

Below are the quarantine rules of a few states.


Alaska lifted the mandatory 14-day quarantine requirement for travelers. International and interstate travelers can freely come to Alaska. 

In addition, the travelers will have to show a proven negative PCR coronavirus test. However, anyone tested positive will not be allowed to enter. 

On the other hand, anyone who chooses to test on arrival will have to quarantine until the result is out. 

The Governor of Alaska, Mike Dunleavy lifted the quarantine. In a statement, he said, “Travelers will be asked to minimize in-person interactions for an additional 7-14 days after arrival and will be offered a follow-up test.” 

In addition, he said, “Travelers much complete and sign the Alaska Travel Declaration form and present a negative COVID-19 test upon arrival.” 


Since May 14 the State Department of Health has directed a 14-day quarantine for travelers. Travelers from New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, New Orleans, and all international destinations.


Travelers coming to Connecticut by any mode of transportation will have to self-quarantine for 14 days.


Travelers or residents coming from New York, Connecticut, New Jersey or Louisiana will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. 

However, airline employees, military, and volunteers from other emergency or health responses are exempted from these orders. 


It is mandatory for all visitors and residents to self-quarantine for 14 days. A supplementary proclamation requires all residents and visitors who traveled between any of the islands to self-quarantine. 

The ban will be lifted on June 16, for inter-island travelers. 

However, as ordered by the state’s Department of Transportation anyone traveling from the other island will have to go through thermal screening at the airports.  

Travelers will also be provided with health questionnaires to be filled out by them. In order to aid the state in tracking COVID-19 cases. 


People traveling from states, having a higher rate of the virus than Idaho will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. Nonessential travel is now acceptable in Idaho.


People coming from New York, Illinois, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Maryland are required to quarantine for 14 days. 

The state is encouraging those who traveled to the Lake of the Ozarks in Missouri over Memorial day weekend to self-quarantine for 14 days if they didn’t take precautions like social distancing or wearing a mask.


The state demands executives to self-quarantine for 14 days. The state is very keen to curtail Covid-19 spread.

All travelers are will have to self-quarantine for 14 days. People who have coronavirus symptoms cannot come to the state. However, this does not apply to health care, public safety, transportation, and designated essential workers. 


Residents traveling from international destinations will self-quarantine for 14 days. Albeit, this rule excludes health care workers, commuters, and certain other groups.

New Mexico

Travelers coming to New Mexico must self-quarantine for 14 days. This requirement is not for Military personnel, airline employees, and health care workers.


Gov. Kevin Stitt has maintained quarantine rule. People flying from the New York area, Washington state, California, or Louisiana to quarantine for 14 days. While airline employees, military, and health emergency workers are exempted from this rule.

Rhode Island 

The Governor has eased the stay at home order for residents from May 9. People coming from interstates or highly affected areas will have to quarantine for 14 days. However, this is not applicable to anyone traveling for medical treatment. Also, personnel from the public health and safety department can move unrestricted.

South Carolina

In South Carolina quarantine rule is valid. Travelers coming from a widespread area or ongoing community spread should stay home for 14-days from the date of departure.


The state has still imposed the 14 day quarantine period for anyone coming from high-risk areas. 


The state has imposed 14-day quarantine restrictions on those who have traveled internationally. The rule is valid for travelers coming via air, sea, or land.


The state Department of Health Services has imposed a self-quarantine for 14 days for travelers.

In essence, The US has to open up. Millions of people have been affected by it. Unemployment is a big villain. This also coupled with death toll and virus transmission. The government cannot micromanage everything.

Therefore, they have chosen a smart lockdown strategy. Most states have kept quarantine rules intact. however, there are certain terms with the rule. Tourism-oriented states have opened first. These states have good screening and quarantine rules.

The neighbor country Canada has also eased its lockdown. People’s movements are cautious and restricted. However, many states as discussed above are extra cautious. As the list becomes smaller we will see more movement in the states.

You May Also Like