New Zealand’s Passport Becomes World’s Powerful Passport

World's Powerful Passport

According to a new global passport ranking, New Zealand’s passport is the most powerful in the world.

However, the Passport Index ranks passports based on where citizens who hold them can travel. But this includes looking at where they can travel visa-free, or where tourist visas apply.

Although, there are 193 UN countries as well as six other territories in this ranking.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, there have been new travel restrictions put in place. But there is no effect of these new restrictions on the rankings. However, due to the nature of the pandemic, they are both temporary and subject to change.

Moreover, the ranking does not take into consideration when a government advises its citizens against travel.

However, New Zealand currently boasts the world’s most powerful passport, as its residents can travel to 129 countries.

No International Travel

Presently, the government of New Zealand is not allowing its citizens to travel to international countries. Therefore, they will not be able to make use of this power just quite yet.

Meanwhile, the UK took the fourth spot on the list with 126 countries available for traveling.

However, Brits are currently subject to the Foreign Office’s travel advice, which includes all but essential travel to a host of destinations.

However, in some countries, the UK is considered a ‘high risk’ country due to its numbers of coronavirus cases. For example, South Africa recently re-opened its borders to tourists. But British tourists were not allowed yet.

Moreover, the UK was not the only country to take the fourth spot. However, it was in a joint place with the Netherlands, Denmark, Portugal, Lithuania, Norway, Iceland, and Canada.

Therefore, the full list of global passport rankings is given below.

List of Global Passport Rankings

1. New Zealand

2. Germany, Austria, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Ireland, Japan, South Korea, Australia

3. Sweden, Belgium, France, Finland, Italy, Spain

4. Netherlands, Denmark, Portugal, Lithuania, Norway, Iceland, UK, Canada


5. Malta, Slovenia, Latvia

6. Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Poland, Hungary, Liechtenstein

7. Slovakia

8. Cyprus, Croatia, Monaco

9. Romania, Bulgaria

10. San Marino, Andorra, Uruguay

In addition,

11. Ukraine

12. Vatican City

13. United Arab Emirates

14. Serbia

15. Georgia


16. North Macedonia

17. Albania

18. Montenegro

19. Bosnia and Herzegovina

20. Moldova


21. Malaysia, the USA

22. Singapore

23. Brazil

24. Barbados, Russian Federation, Turkey

25. Argentina


26. Hong Kong, Chile

27. Bahamas

28. St Kitts and Nevis, Brunei

29. The Seychelles, Mexico

30. Antigua and Barbuda


31. Israel

32. St Vincent and the Grenadines, Mauritius, Costa Rica

33. Trinidad and Tobago

34. Macao, Qatar

35. Peru

In addition,

36. Saint Lucia, Kuwait, Paraguay

37. Panama

38. Dominica, South Africa

39. Grenada, Solomon Islands

40. Belize, Jamaica, Fiji, Venezuela


41. Tawain, Bahrain, Ecuador

42. Vanuatu, El Salvador, Colombia

43. Tuvalu, Tonga, the Maldives, Samoa

44. Nicaragua, Belarus, Saudi Arabia, Kazakhstan

45. Botswana, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Guyana, Guatemala, Oman


46. Honduras

47. Lesotho, Tunisia, China

48. Nauru, Bolivia

49. Eswatini, Malawi, Zambia, Azerbaijan, Indonesia, Micronesia, Suriname

50. Ghana, Namibia, Palau


51. Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Papua New Guinea

52. Cuba, Morocco, Thailand

53. Armenia, Kyrgyzstan

54. Zimbabwe, Uganda, Cote d’Ivoire

55. Gambia, Senegal, Cape Verde, Uzbekistan


56. Sierra Leone, Mozambique, Sao Tome and Principe, Dominican Republic

57. Burkina Faso, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste

58. Benin, Gabon, India, Jordan, Algeria

59. Niger, Guinea-Bissau, Philippines, Mongolia, Bhutan

60. Guinea, Mauritania, Madagascar, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt

In addition,

61. Mali, Togo, Angola, Burundi, Turkmenistan, Cambodia

62. Liberia

63. Chad, Central African Republic, Vietnam

64. Congo, Laos, Comoros

65. Nigeria, Kosovo, Sri Lanka, Congo, Dijbouti, Haiti


66. Sudan

67. Bangladesh, South Sudan

68. Ethiopia, Lebanon, Libya, Nepal, Eritrea

69. Myanmar, North Korea

70. Pakistan


71. Palestinian Territories, Iran

72. Yemen

73. Somalia

74. Syria

75. Afghanistan, Iraq

You May Also Like