Germany all set to lift travel bans for non-essential travel

Serene sights of Germany

Germany is reopening its borders for 31 countries on 15 June, after imposing lockdown in March, due to the coronavirus pandemic outbreak, announced the German Foreign Minister, Heiko Maas. 

The Minister stated in a press release, “The Federal Government decided on June 3, 2020, that the travel warning for the member states of the European Union, for Schengen-associated states and for the United Kingdom should be lifted from June 15 and replaced by individuals travel advice.

Travel to only members of European Union Countries

People from the UK, Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland, and Switzerland can visit the country. From Germany, people are allowed to travel to 26 EU countries.

Mass said that it is not advised by the government to travel to the UK, as the country has still implemented a 14 day quarantine time. He also said that reopening the borders and lifting the travel restrictions is “not necessarily an invitation to travel.”

The German government has not allowed its citizens to travel to the US for now. However, the travel restrictions will remain the same as before. 

Necessary Lockdown

The country closed its borders in March, for most of the countries and was operating for essential travel only. On 16 March, the national lockdown was announced by the German Chancellor, Angela Merkel. All 16 states agreed with the federal government in Berlin to implement lockdown to stop the spread of the virus. 

The decision of quick lockdown helped the country in stopping the spread of the virus. At the beginning, there were 4,800 confirmed cases and around 10 deaths from coronavirus. But after the lockdown, there were relatively fewer deaths and about 8,576 cases of the affected people.

The German Foreign Minister said that now the government would provide guidelines to the individuals stating which country is safe to travel and which is not. Most importantly, he also mentioned that travel restriction could be altered keeping in view the severity of cases in different countries. 

Other EU and Schengen Member Countries Lifting Bans

Many EU and Schengen member states are planning to reopen their borders. But, these will only be for the citizens of other member states for non-essential entry. 

Italy has opened its borders for tourists and members of the Schengen visa, can come to Italy. Moreover, there are about 25 countries included in the Schengen visa-free travel area. Which covers most of Europe, will be welcomed in the country with no restriction. 

Greece is opening its borders from July 1, only to the countries with a lower number of people affected by the coronavirus. Consequently, Germany has still banned the entry of Spain and Norway as these Schengen countries have still not lifted their entry bans.

You May Also Like
Life in Jordan
Read More

Jordan to Reopen Airports

Jordan is reopening its airports for commercial flights from next month. On Thursday, it confirmed to partially restart…